Romans 8:2-3 – “For the law of the spirit of life in Christ has made me free from the law of sin and death. For what the law could not do in that it was weak through the flesh, God did by sending His own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh on account of sin: He condemned sin in the flesh,” (emphasis mine).

After reading Romans 7 and part of 8 last week, I started thinking about that. You know, it is absolutely wonderful! What Jesus, the Son of God, did is amazing!

Verse 4 carried on with “that the righteous requirement of the law” (punishment for sin) “might be fulfilled…”

Before, sin, taking advantage through the law, made me sin (have you ever been happy and content, and then your mom said “I put a cake in the fridge. Don’t eat it until dessert.”? How did you feel all of a sudden? Like you wanted the cake? It’s like that. Because of the fallen human nature, we tend to want what we can’t have, and sin takes advantage of that to make us want to do what we ought not do). It was like a law of nature: “all I do is sin and I can do nothing else.”

I thought of it another way too: sin was like a horrible task master with a slicing whip, forcing me to obey it. I had no choice; all I did would be abominable in the eyes of the Lord.

But then came Jesus, who took sin upon Himself, and made it possible for me not to sin. By Him and through His Spirit, I can live a sinless life. But even if I do sin, I have Him as an advocate with the Father (1John 2:1) and can be clean again! God defeated sin and set me free to live for Him. Sin has nothin’ on me anymore!

I must now set my mind on spiritual things and walk according to the Spirit. I’m free to! So I don’t have to sin. And this merciful God grants both the desire and the ability to do His will, to follow the law of the Spirit of life in Christ! (Phil 2:13) Yay!

The law couldn’t do that. But Christ could. And He did! As He purposed long ago, just as it was prophesied (Isaiah 53:4-5,6,10-12) He actually did. Praise to the King! I don’t have to sin.

And you know, neither do you.

*You can read a post on the same topic here.

